“You have value simply because you exist.”

"You have value because you exist." - MomA few days ago, my mother said something to me that was incredibly powerful in its simplicity: You have value simply because you exist.  

At some point, most of us question ourselves, our decisions, our paths, and our progress.  Often, as was the case for me last week, comments and opinions from others lead us to do so.  He’s just trying to make you feel bad about yourself.  Don’t let him take your power from you.  You’re the expert on your own life.  You do amazing work… While my friends and colleagues offered supportive and helpful responses, none impacted me the way my mother’s did.  You have value simply because you exist.  To hear this, even from my mother, was jarring.  I had to stop, take a long breath, and really think about what she said.  Something I can so easily say about others, about all creatures in fact, I never apply to myself.  No matter how I feel about myself, no matter how others feel about me, I have value because I matter to her.

I have value because I exist.  Jonathan will always have value because he existed.  We all have value because we were here.  We mean something, if not to ourselves, to someone else.  That’s a message we could all stand to hear more often.  Let’s be sure to share it.     

One thought on ““You have value simply because you exist.”

Leave a Reply

