The Sexual Politics of Meat slide show: A Defiant Daughter’s reflections

Carl J. Adams and Ashley Maier in LA, October 2013
Carl J. Adams and Ashley Maier in LA, October 2013

After years of waiting, a Defiant Daughter finally met her inspiration, Carol J. Adams.  It’s hard to believe that despite countless emails, we had never actually met in person.  That changed when I attended her The Sexual Politics of Meat slide show at the National Museum of Animals & Society on Sunday, October 27, 2013.

The slide show visually demonstrates The Sexual Politics of Meat, from meat being sold as manly to the feminization and sexualization of animals – it was all there.  I was delighted to watch as those around me feverishly took notes and had visceral “ah!” moments.  The woman sitting next to me even exclaimed, “This is amazing, she’s like Susan B. Anthony!”

Carol J. Adams explains the portrayal of meat as manly at her The Sexual Politics of Meat Slide Show.
Carol J. Adams explains the portrayal of meat as manly at her The Sexual Politics of Meat slide show

Not sure what to expect as I literally “watched” The Sexual Politics of Meat unfold in front of me, I was impressed at just how up-to-date and relevant the slide show was.  Carol clearly continually updates the presentation to make sure it resonates with the audience, and that it did.  Talking to Carol after the show, I can’t tell you how many people came up to tell her that this event was simply life-changing.

As I write in my essay for Defiant Daughters: 21 Women on Art, Activism, Animals, and The Sexual Politics of Meat, Carol’s book comforted and supported me as I started on my connectionist journey, seeing veganim as an essential part of my feminism and vice versa.  Making the connections isn’t easy in a rape culture in which the consumption of animals is normalized and glorified.  Her work let me know that I wasn’t alone.  Watching Carol highlight concepts like feminized proteins that I’ve come to know so well, learning more about her journey, sharing the experience in a room full of like-minded individuals, and finally giving her a hug was just what I needed to keep going.

Learn more about Carol J. Adams and The Sexual Politics of Meat at:  http://www.caroljadams.com/

Leave a Reply

