Tweet Wars: My Advice about Twitter

Most of you know that I’ve been a big advocate for the use of Twitter.   Over the past year, I wrote about it in a newsletter and I spoke about it in a podcast.  It seems that more people are using Twitter these days.  Yet with increased tweets come unanticipated consequences.  Here are a few of my observations, annoyances, and suggestions:

  • Twitter is not a battleground.  If you’re tweeting so you can compete with a rival or say things you could never say to someone’s face, just stop.  It’s immature and stupid.
  • Oh my goodness, say something with substance.  Especially if you’re tweeting from a business or organizational account.   I know I am guilty from time to time, but that’s why I have a personal account.  And honestly, unless you’re a celebrity, no one cares that you are getting ready to get in your car to see a movie that you probably won’t like but your friends want you to see and…
  • Don’t be afraid!  I attended the National Sexual Assault Conference last week and heard a lot of disparaging comments from older folks about all the “youth” using Twitter.  The organizers did a great job setting up a Twitter culture at the conference.  I am not a youth.  Others who were using Twitter were not youths.  There are a lot of adults using Twitter these days, I promise.
  • Post pictures!  This one’s just for me.  I like pictures.
  • Don’t forget you can DM (direct message) folks.  I consistently overlook this option.  If two people follow each other, you both can send direct messages that no one else can see.  This avoids a public back-and-forth conversation that is guaranteed to reduce your number of followers.

That’s it for now. I’m still sick, so I’m going to get out of bed and go into the bathroom and…

See, no one wants to know.

Leave a Reply

