Month 1 – August’s Age 31 Wellness Challenge

It’s that time!  Today is the 1st day of my monthly age 31 wellness challenge.  So what is in store for the first month?  Sugar.  No sugar, that is.  For all of August, I commit to consuming no sugar.  Most of you already know that I don’t eat refined sugar, since it’s not all vegan (and really hard to find out what companies use bone char in the refining process).  Therefore, this will be easy, right?  Not so fast!  First, I’m going to make it a little more difficult by avoiding all sweeteners.  This includes agave nectar, evaporated cane juice, and the like.  Sometimes it may be nearly impossible to avoid trace amounts, such as in my cereal, but I’ll do my best!  Second, because this could be seen as an easy challenge for a vegan (if you think so, you have never been to Sweat Pea Bakery), I will also require myself to ride my bicycle for at least 30 minutes every day.  If the weather and my schedule cooperate, this will be mostly accomplished by riding to and from work, 30 minutes each way.  When riding to work doesn’t cover it, I’ll either spend 30 minutes on my handy dandy new indoor trainer or I’ll use the machines in my apartment management office’s little workout room.

So that’s the plan.  Wish me luck!  I’ll post updates 1 to 2 times per week.

Leave a Reply

