The Power of Incubus

On Friday I tweeted that I’d write about this quote from the band Incubus:

Don’t let the world bring you down

Not everyone here is that f’ed up and cold

Remember why you came and while you’re alive

Experience the warmth before you grow old

 

I’m not sure why exactly I decided to promise to blog about it.  But you know me – I simply must keep my Twitter promises.

So what do I want to say about this quote?   This…uh…chorus (Roi, it’s a chorus, right?) always pops into my head at the most needed moments.  The world often brings me down.  If it’s not the topic of my work (sexual violence), it’s toxic human relations or just plain old bad news.  The fact that a song from the 90’s can lift me up and keep me going on these days speaks to the power of music.  I’ve written about the power of music and the fact that we who do social justice work need to tap into it more.  To me, this is a perfect example as to why.  Musicians have influence.  Their songs, invited or uninvited (i.e. “Oh my god, get out of my head!!!”), shape our attitudes and behavior.  Here’s an example of how Incubus changes my attitudes and behavior when this song pops into my head:

Don’t let the world bring you down

“Why?  The world sucks.  People are terrible to each other.”

 

Not everyone here is that f’ed up and cold

“Oh, yeah, I guess that’s true.  I can think of a few people who aren’t terrible.”

 

Remember why you came and while you’re alive

“Why did I come?  Not really thinking it was my choice, but okay.  Anyway, I did choose to do this work.  I want the world to be warm and not f’ed up.”

 

Experience the warmth before you grow old

“Wow, that’s ageist.  But I do need to experience the warmth.  It’s not all bad and the bad stuff can be changed.  That’s why I’m here.  Go got ‘em, tiger!”

And that, my friends, is exactly what goes through my head when this chorus pops into it.  Ah, the power of music.  🙂

Leave a Reply

