Thinking of Mom and Jonathan

So Thursday is the anniversary of my brother’s death. I don’t like “anniversary” but how else can I say it? He died 2 years ago as of Thursday. Then the next day is my mom’s birthday. Last year I kept saying “it’s just a day.” But this year my detachment from the construct of time is weaker. I mean COME ON. The day before my mom’s birthday, her son died. Not that it would be any less horrific had it happened on any other day. I just can’t reconcile the memories and grief of the 15th with what is supposed to be the joy and celebration of the 16th. Mom, I hope we can make this a time to celebrate your life, and Jonathan was (and still is) a huge part of it. In celebrating your life, we celebrate his. We celebrate your love and strength. And by “your,” I mean both of you. This week I’m focusing on the love and strength of my mom and my brother. They go hand in hand.

One thought on “Thinking of Mom and Jonathan

Leave a Reply

