Let’s Talk Vegan

I’m not a big fan of vegan food made to imitate animal-based food.  I mean, if I really wanted a hotdog, I’m not sure I’d be vegan.  Ew.  That’s not to diminish the importance of imitation meat products – anyone who enjoys food from animals but wants to live with compassion can find a vegan version of almost anything.  There are lots of examples on veganstore.com.  The same goes with clothing.  I don’t want to wear shoes or jackets that look like they are made from animal skin.  Why would I?  I don’t think it’s fashionable to pretend to wear an animal’s flesh.  But for those who do, just visit any number of stores and you can find compassionate versions of leather jackets, wool coats, leather shoes, etc.  What sparked this?  In shopping for vegan items, especially clothing, I’m amazed at the choices available to me.  At the same time, I find myself with little options that are not imitations of products made from animals.  I think the products today are amazing.  You really can’t tell they aren’t leather, chicken, etc.  I just don’t want that.  I don’t want to appear to be wearing leather even though I know I’m not.  I don’t want to taste meat even if it’s not real meat.  I’m looking for animal-product-free space and it’s really hard to find.   I wouldn’t want to take the animal imitations away.  I just want to add other options.  “Both and.”  So if you enjoy vegan hotdogs, go ahead.  And if you enjoy hot dogs, try a vegan version!  You really can’t tell the difference.  Believe me.

One thought on “Let’s Talk Vegan

  1. Me neither! “I don’t eat animals, but give me a bunch of products that look and sometimes taste too much like the real thing.” Not the way I choose my vegan food, but people are vegan/vegetarian for a multiplicity of reasons. Btw, many mock meat products are from Taiwan/China and in the recent past many products have been tested and contained traces of animal products. Sometimes the mock meat would actually be meat. Gross, and thanks for lying to your consumers!

Leave a Reply

